Happ-pea Days!

After a rather dull day at the office I came home to see these on my living room table, brightening up the apartment

As I have a bit of a habit of lusting after various pieces of kitchen equipment, I am trying desperately to ensure that I use lots of it up. (By the way, do you like our new garlic storage box- very cute!)

Cute, no!?

Mmmm Chickpeas, happy chickpeas

Part of this irrational kitchen gadgetry lust extended to using some Christmas gift vouchers to buy a pressure cooker for on the hob. So far I have only cooked beans (kidney, pinto & black beans), but boy does it save a lot of time! So I tested chickpeas to make hoummous (& grated carrot sandwiches) for pack-lunches tomorrow. After only 15 minutes in the pressure cooker they were fab and ready for hoummous!

I used a bit more garlic than the above picture would suggest. I used 3 and a half. When the recipe says only use 2 & a half, trust it! I’m sure my colleagues at work wont be thankful for my love of hoummous tomorrow, however I will certainly have no problems with vampires tomorrow!

Behold the food processor!

  • 130g dried chickpeas (soaked overnight & cooked in pressure cooker) or a 420g tin of chickpeas
  • Juice of 1 lemon
  • 2.5 garlic cloves
  • 1 teaspoon cumin
  • Sea Salt
  • 2 teaspoons tahini (sesame seed paste)
  • Good glug olive oil
  • A slosh of water
  • Paprika to taste

Hoummous is a very easy dish; I put all the ingredients in my food processor and blitzed. Adding more oil and water to make it into a nice consistency. Taste and then season accordingly!

Serve slathered over lots of hot bread, or with griddled red peppers…….Yum!

The beuatiful end result

About kittenkirst

I'm a girl obsessed with all things food. Sweet, savoury, salty and everything inbetween captures my imagination! My favourite thing to do is spend hours leisurely reading from my cookbook collection and reading food blogs.....bliss! Feel free to have a nose at my blog and offer any suggestions or ideas!
This entry was posted in Beans, Sandwich Fillings, Vegetarian and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

