Biscuit attempt #1

 
Do you ever get the craving for something very simple, yet very sweet?
Inspiration!
This weekend I found myself perusing internet sites and scouring through my various cookbooks trying to find something to curb my sweet tooth but that wasn’t too complicated (cue piccie of our cookbook shelves- there’s more behind!)
 
I came across a basic vanilla biscuit recipe scribbled in the back of one of my notepads (not sure of its origins I’m afraid!)
 
Itching to try the recipe, I skipped off into the kitchen. If you want to attempt these goodies I have popped the recipe here. As you may have guessed from the title, this is my first attempt, the next one I shall be trying out a cherry and coconut version, and possibly a choc chip one too!
 
The recipe makes enough dough to do just under 40 biscuits. If you are like me this is far too much temptation to have you can pop half of the dough (once rested) in clingfilm and pop in the freezer! 
 
 
Ingredients
  • 90g butter
  • 100g caster sugar
  • 1 large egg
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 200g plain white flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/2 salt
  1. Sieve the flour into a bowl, add the baking powder & salt
  2. Mmmmmm butter!
  3. Cream the butter and sugar together until pale & creamy
  4. Beat in the egg and vanilla
  5. Add the flour until you have a sticky dough and all combined
  6. Wrap the dough in clingfilm and pop in the fridge for an hour
  7. Preheat oven to 150°C.
  8. Roll the dough out to 0.5cm thickness and using whichever cutter takes your fancy, cut out the biscuits
  9. Layer on greaseproof paper and pop in the oven for 8-12 minutes.
If it takes your fancy you can ice the biscuits using icing sugar, a few drops of milk and a dash of vanilla extract.
 
 
About kittenkirst

I'm a girl obsessed with all things food. Sweet, savoury, salty and everything inbetween captures my imagination! My favourite thing to do is spend hours leisurely reading from my cookbook collection and reading food blogs.....bliss! Feel free to have a nose at my blog and offer any suggestions or ideas!
This entry was posted in Baking, Tea and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Biscuit attempt #1

  1. Brittany says:

    Delicious! I love the designs too!

Leave a Reply

