Tea Time- Cinnamon Tea Ring

When I was younger, it was an awesome treat for my mum to make her cinnamon tea ring. I don’t remember where the recipe initially came from, but I remember the anticipation of the ring being finished, with the tantalisingly sweet smell of cinnamon and sugar mingling in the air.
 
I’m having a bit of an affair with cinnamon at the moment; I tried two recipes from Joy The Bakers blog in the past few months
Try them you will definately not be dissappointed!
 
So to continue this love affair I decided to have a play at making a cinnamon tea ring.

Et voilà!

I attempted the following recipe from allrecipes.com as it was the most similar to my childhood memories, which I played with and adapted (e.g. left out pecans as I am allergic). These are the English measurements:
 
350g plain flour
100g caster sugar
1/8 teaspoon baking soda
1 packet instant yeast (7g)
1 teaspoon salt
120ml milk
120ml yogurt
60ml water
3 tablespoons Stork (or butter)
50g brown sugar (I used dark muscovado)
1 tablespoon ground cinnamon
1 egg white or a bit of milk
 
1.  Warm the milk, water, yogurt and 2 tablespoons Stork in a pan gently; warm to approx 120°C . Don’t overheat or you’ll kill the yeast!
2. Combine 100g flour, 50g of the caster sugar, yeast, salt & baking soda. Add the liquids and mix for a few minutes. I used the electric beaters for ease.
3. Add the remaining flour until forms a dough, knead on a floured surface until elasticy and stringy.
Leave in a covered bowl for 45mins- 1hr.
4. Preheat the oven to 180°C.
5. Roll out to 35cm x 30cm (12 x 14 inch). Melt the remaining butter and spread across the rectangle. Combine the sugar & cinnamon and then sprinkle generously.
6. Roll the dough up into a large sausage, pinching the join together; place seam side down on greaseproof papered tray and form into a ring. Pinch the ends together.
6. Cut at 2.5cm intervals all the way round and pull the wedges out slightly.
 
It should resemble something like this!
7. Brush the ring either with egg white or milk.
8. Cook for 28 minutes; check in the last ten minutes to prevent it over-browning
9. Transfer to a cooling rack and try not to burn your mouth on the hot cinnamony sugar!
 
 
About kittenkirst

I'm a girl obsessed with all things food. Sweet, savoury, salty and everything inbetween captures my imagination! My favourite thing to do is spend hours leisurely reading from my cookbook collection and reading food blogs.....bliss! Feel free to have a nose at my blog and offer any suggestions or ideas!
This entry was posted in Baking, Tea and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Tea Time- Cinnamon Tea Ring

  1. Brittany says:

    This looks like some sort of delicious alien creature. Did I mention delicious!?

    • kittenkirst says:

      It is a bit of a strange shape, but the mix of yogurt & milk means it is lovely & moist in the middle, and the cut parts get all caramelly cinnamony goodness!

  2. thehungrymum says:

    Have never seen anything like this but you had me at cinnamon… am bookmarking for next baking session.

Leave a Reply

