Crumpet attempt #1

Crumpets anyone?

After receiving daily requests for the past three weeks from my beloved, I decided that I would attempt to make my own homemade crumpets (some would call his incessant pleas for crumpets nagging, but not I!). After all, I had already purchased the muffin/crumpet rings a few weeks ago (I did tell you that I’m a kitchen gadget addict, right?)

I decided that I would start where many before me have started and went with a Delia Smith recipe (Link here: http://www.deliaonline.com/recipes/type-of-dish/sweet/home-made-crumpets.html) as the components that make up the fluffy, holey delight seem to be vastly different depending on your source.

I must say that as first attempts went it wasn’t too bad, I found my batter mixture did have lots of frothy holes but was quite a thick consistency when poured into the crumpet rings (see pictue below). I also found that the quantity needed per crumpet was very different to that stated by Delia; I used 3 desertspoons per ring, not the 1 tablespoon that was recommended as this quantity did not even cover the bottom of the ring:

I also found that this recipe made 7 crumpets using the batter portions that I used, but that the cooking time of only 5 minutes on the first side did not allow enough time for the characteristic honeycomb bubbles to appear.

For my next attempt at crumpets, I will use a recipe that uses bicarbonate of soda to see if this makes much difference on the end result.

I must say, holey or not, these tasted beautiful slathered in a little butter alongside a steaming cup of mexican veracruz coffee!

 
About kittenkirst

I'm a girl obsessed with all things food. Sweet, savoury, salty and everything inbetween captures my imagination! My favourite thing to do is spend hours leisurely reading from my cookbook collection and reading food blogs.....bliss! Feel free to have a nose at my blog and offer any suggestions or ideas!
This entry was posted in Baking, Batter, Breakfast, Brunch, Crumpets, Vegetarian and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

