Heaven on a plate- Florentine Eggs Benedict

Following the spinach english muffins made from The Fabulous Baker Brothers I wanted to make another recipe from the book and so attempted to make eggs benedict; florentine style.

Margorie!

Now, lets get this out there. I adore spinach, I also adore eggs (preferably poached) and therefore I had high hopes for this recipe and it certainly did not disappoint!

Essentially, I warmed through the muffins in the oven whilst making a hollandaise sauce. Hollandaise sauce can be tricky to make and I must admit that my first attempt went awry, leaving me with a split butter and egg mixture- Ahh! But, perseverance (and a make-shift bainmarie) paid off; this sauce is a delight to eat, luxurious and creamy.

Once the hollandaise was prepared, in all its  yellow delight, I poached a few eggs (one for me, two for the man).

Plated this up with a slice of parma ham, some fresh spinach leaves, the poached egg and copious amounts of the hollandaise sauce all atop the spinach muffins.

Served with my favourite coffee and a beetroot & apple juice, this is bliss on a plate!

About kittenkirst

I'm a girl obsessed with all things food. Sweet, savoury, salty and everything inbetween captures my imagination! My favourite thing to do is spend hours leisurely reading from my cookbook collection and reading food blogs.....bliss! Feel free to have a nose at my blog and offer any suggestions or ideas!
This entry was posted in Baking, Breakfast, Brunch, Eggs, Muffins, Spinach, Vegetarian and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Heaven on a plate- Florentine Eggs Benedict

  1. James says:

    You’ll definetely have to cook this next time im around yours- love poached eggs!

Leave a Reply

