Lentil Salads- not as dull as you think!

I recently had to travel up to Manchester for an interview with work, and due to the lengthy train journey I decided to treat myself to a nice lunch.

I adore Pret-A-Manger food & their ethos, but I must admit that it can be a bit more pricey than a standard lunch take-out and I therefore don’t indulge all to often. I opted for the lovely Soy Latte with a Prosciutto, egg and lentil salad, washed down with some carrot juice and some dried mango! Yum and pretty virtuous!

Delightful lunch!

Delightful lunch!

Needless to say, my lunch that day was just wonderful! It got me thinking about how to use lentils more in our diet, as they are both cheap & protein rich. Plus we have a stoecupboard filled with different types of lentils and beans!

My first attempt was pretty much to copy the ingredients of the above salad for dinner one evening, with a few additions to use up things in the fridge prior to jetting off to Milan.

Prosciutto, Egg and Puy Lentil Salad

  • Puy lentils
  • Red pepper
  • spring onions (scallions)
  • Sundried tomatoes (from a jar in the fridge)
  • Boiled Egg
  • Prosciutto
  • A little drizzle of Extra virgin olive oil & balsamic vinegar
  • Rocket
  • Baby spinach
  • Radishes

The most lengthy part was cooking the lentils; just add to a pan of hot water and simmer on the stove for a good 15 minutes, sieve and run under cold water. Then assemble:

My version

My version

About kittenkirst

I'm a girl obsessed with all things food. Sweet, savoury, salty and everything inbetween captures my imagination! My favourite thing to do is spend hours leisurely reading from my cookbook collection and reading food blogs.....bliss! Feel free to have a nose at my blog and offer any suggestions or ideas!
This entry was posted in Dinner, Eggs, Food, meat, Spinach, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Lentil Salads- not as dull as you think!

  1. Shayna says:

    This looks awesome. You can put prociutto in anything and I’ll eat it 🙂

    • kittenkirst says:

      I’m the same. We had pork loin fillet stuffed with pesto & mozzarella, wrapped in prosciutto last night for dinner- tasted phenomenal (even with being unwell- it was that good)!!
      Thanks for stopping by :0)

Leave a Reply

