Lentils & lunch boxes

Following on from the lentil salad made for dinner, I wanted to test how well lentils went down in our lunch boxes for work.

I started with a standard base of puy lentils (boiled for 15 minutes and then ran under cold water) and added spring onion, sundried tomaoes, coriander & a bit of chopped red chilli.

I then roasted off a chicken breast in the oven (covered with a little tin foil to prevent drying out) and also chopped up some courgette and red pepper, added this to a small roasting dish to cook for around 25 minutes.

Once cooked I chopped up the chicken and added the courgette & chicken to the lentil mix.

We had an avocado to use, however I didn’t want the avocade to turn that horrible brown-black colour whilst in the lunchbox. I therefore dipped the avocado slices in a bit of lime juice (I promise that you won’t taste the lime in the finished salad)

Mmmm avocado

To add some crunch and some extra nutrition, I then sprinkled over a mix of sesame, pumpkin & sunflower seeds alongside some chopped radish, for extra pep!

Mmmmmmmm

I have a cute little lunch bag (bought by a lovely friend as a present) which I added a little ice block to and this ensured the salad was lovely, fresh and crunchy at lunchtime!

About kittenkirst

I'm a girl obsessed with all things food. Sweet, savoury, salty and everything inbetween captures my imagination! My favourite thing to do is spend hours leisurely reading from my cookbook collection and reading food blogs.....bliss! Feel free to have a nose at my blog and offer any suggestions or ideas!
This entry was posted in Food, lentils and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

