Smoothie fun times!

A few weeks back I admitted that I have a bit of an obsession with buying kitchen equipment, right?

Sooooo, I will need to own up to buying a new fab little blender. Oooops! It’s a shiny, “intelligent” blender in my defence. Okay, that’s a bit of a lame excuse, but I’m pretty pleased with it. It has a dip, smoothie, ice crush and other settings, meaning that I press the one button and it has pre-programmed speeds which means it does what it should!

Needless to say I have therefore been down to my local fruit & veg market to buy as much as my little arms could carry home (that surely constitutes an arm workout, no?). We are very lucky that we live in central Leicester which has a pretty wonderful local marker. Just look at what my £8.50 bought on my day off:

I have so far tried a few different varieties of smoothies. I had a google on general things that can and can’t be added to smoothies and then just had a play. If you would like to give my concoctions a whirl I have detailed them below.

 Green Breakfast Smoothie

– Spinach- 3 large handfuls
-1/2 Papaya; chopped and seeds removed
– Lime juice
– Natural Yogurt- a good glug
– Ice cubes
 
I popped the liquid ingredients into the blender first, and then added the spinach, papaya and topped off with a good squeeze of half a lime, being cautious to catch any rogue pips.
 
Blend, once smooth I added 6 ice cubes and popped the blender to ice crush.
 
Serve & enjoy!
 

Oaty Breakfast Smoothie

– 1 banana
– handful of strawberries (hulled)
– 1 thick slice fresh pineapple, chopped into chunks
– 1 peach
– Good glug of orange juice
– Handful of porridge oats (not instant)
 
Put the orange juice into the blender
Add the strawberries, banana, pineapple, peach and oats into to the blender
 
Blend, once smooth add ice cubes and then put onto ice crush mode.
 
Serve immediately

 

 

Tropical Fun Smoothie

– 1 peach, stone removed and chopped roughly
– 1 large slice fresh pineapple, chopped into chunks
– 1 tangerine, peeled and segmented
-15 raspberries
– 1/2 papaya, deseeded & cut into chunks
– Handful of fresh mint leaves
– Good measure of orange juice
– Ice cubes
 
Put the orange juice in first, add the chopped fruit, followed by the handful of mint, reserving a sprig for the garnish on the top.
 
Blend until smooth
 
Add ice cubes and pop onto the ice crush programme 
 
I have enjoyed quickly chopping the fruit and blending it in the morning before work, and found that I am able to drink half my smoothie before leaving for work. The remaining half I have popped in a Tupperware drink flask and taken with me to drink at the bus stop whilst waiting for the bus.
 
The oaty smoothie has a slightly grainier texture than standard smoothies but I quite enjoyed the taste & texture. I also found that this one kept me full until lunch and stopped me from naughtily indulging in cake in the office at 11am :0)
 
 
About kittenkirst

I'm a girl obsessed with all things food. Sweet, savoury, salty and everything inbetween captures my imagination! My favourite thing to do is spend hours leisurely reading from my cookbook collection and reading food blogs.....bliss! Feel free to have a nose at my blog and offer any suggestions or ideas!
This entry was posted in Breakfast, Fruit, Spinach, Vegetarian and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

