Summer Reminiscing!

Well, what happened to the summer? Where did it rush off to in such a hurry?

Now that the days are getting shorter and the weather is turning milder I have to admit that I do love the autumn. The smell of rain, the colours of the leaves changing, the colder nights giving me the perfect opportunity to use my rather large array of candles.

This also gives me the perfect excuse for a spot of baking; salted caramel bacon brownies or lemon meringue cupcakes anyone (blog posts to follow in the next few days!).

It also means time to look over photos from the year so far and treasure memories built! One such memory from this year was a hen party trip down to the beautiful area of Swanage. Now this was not an ordinary hen do of drunkeness, and this was no ordinary bride! The bride to be was one of my closest friends and the chief bridesmaids organised an excursion to stay in a yurt!

Now a yurt (if you are not familiar with the concept) is like a rather large tent, but with proper flooring and a fire in the middle which is more like a Tee-pee. The weekend was a lovely relaxing trip away of eating cream teas and riding on steam trains!

20121003-221720.jpg

20121003-221826.jpg

20121003-221255.bjpg

One particular aspect I loved was trying cockles, whelks and mussels! I have seen numerous jars of picked cockles in fish & chip shops all my life and have never been tempted, These bad boys however were on a new level! Luckily the beautiful bride to be loves a bit of shellfish on the seafront so we ordered some to share in case I was a wuss and didnt eat them! We also ordered some brown shrimps (delicious) and prawns as well.

20121003-221428.jpg

I have to admit that whilst I ate the whelks, I don’t think I would have them again (unless liberally doused in vinegar), however the mussels and winkles were just wonderful and a real eye-opener for me!

20121003-221540.jpg

The weekend away was a lovely time despite the weather at times being traditional British weather (grey at times!).

20121003-221648.jpg

About kittenkirst

I'm a girl obsessed with all things food. Sweet, savoury, salty and everything inbetween captures my imagination! My favourite thing to do is spend hours leisurely reading from my cookbook collection and reading food blogs.....bliss! Feel free to have a nose at my blog and offer any suggestions or ideas!
This entry was posted in Dinner, fish, Food, Tea and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

