Salted Caramel Bacon Brownies!

Now, please bear with me. I know a lot of the food press recently has been a bit awash with bacon in desserts (mainly cupcakes) but these are so moreish & delightful you will be itching to make a second & third batch!

The salty smokiness of the bacon mixed with the sweetness of the caramel, topped off with the depth of the chocolate and the salt of the….well, salt makes these little beauties a wonder to behold!

20121003-222817.jpg I stumbled on this recipe as I was desperate to sample some salted caramel but wanted something a little different. Once I had found this recipe I mulled it over for a few days and the decided to bite the bullet and give it a whirl.

Give me salted bacon-y goodness
The recipe I used was from the blog link above

First stop was the supermarket for American style bacon and some dark chocolate and then I set about mastering these brownies.

These little beauties took me a couple of hours to play in the kitchen, but do give them a try as they are so lovely. The savoury cake-ness of these leaves you wanting more, just try not to eat them all at once!

I added a little sprinkling of coarse sea salt over the mix before popping in the oven to adjust the sweetness. Do ensure you taste a little of the mix to ensure the right level of savoury/sweet for your tastebuds!

Fresh from the oven:

20121003-223409.jpg Chopped up & ready to take into work for my lovely team!

20121003-223612.jpg

20121003-223638.jpg One small word of advice: when melting the sugar on the hob for the caramel make sure when you grab a utensil that is not plastic to spoon out otherwise this happens!!!

20121003-223917.jpg

About kittenkirst

I'm a girl obsessed with all things food. Sweet, savoury, salty and everything inbetween captures my imagination! My favourite thing to do is spend hours leisurely reading from my cookbook collection and reading food blogs.....bliss! Feel free to have a nose at my blog and offer any suggestions or ideas!
This entry was posted in Baking, Brunch, Dessert, Eggs, Food, Tea and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Salted Caramel Bacon Brownies!

  1. bakingaddict says:

    I am in the salted caramel camp. Adding bacon is just icing on top 🙂

  2. Yum! I’m going to try this out this weekend. (also, I’ve melted so many spoons melting sugar. you’d think I’d learn sometime…)

  3. Pingback: Bacon Caramel Brownies « On Something New

  4. Moreish, decadent and definitely tasty looking 🙂

Leave a Reply

