Figs, figs, figs. On pizza?

Firstly, I must fully lay the blame at Nigel Slaters’ door for this blog post. I was happily half-watching one of his shows and flicking through the newest issue of Goodfood magazine, when he featured figs. He created a wonderfully crisp looking granola style breakfast with his figs and enthused on the jewel-like sweet properties of the fig.

This set me thinking about figs. I’ve never really properly tried figs, but do have a secret longstanding love for fig rolls. Therefore, I decided it was high time at the age of (ahem!) 28 to give these a try. We happily bought some from our local market as they are 5 for £1 at the moment, and were looking very enticing.

I started pencilling into my food notebook (which doubles as shopping list for recipes too) a few of the items we had in the fridge and trying to think of different fig related ideas. I googled figs and mozzarella and came across this magnificent recipe:

Fig, Prosciutto & Mozzarella pizza 

The recipe itself was very easy to follow, however I feel that the dough that is made is far too fluffy for my liking. I think this would be made better by using a more crisp pizza base for the toppings.

This recipe allowed me to try out our new pizza stone (terracotta) that we bought a few weekends ago, so it was a winning idea all round!

The toppings themselves, whilst unusual, create a harmony in the mouth; the salty prosciutto with the creamy mozzarella and the sweetness of the figs melds so well together it is very difficult not to scoff the entire pizza!

Pizza dough on a pizza stone!

I’m keen to try figs in more recipes so do let me know what’s your favourite fig recipe?

About kittenkirst

I'm a girl obsessed with all things food. Sweet, savoury, salty and everything inbetween captures my imagination! My favourite thing to do is spend hours leisurely reading from my cookbook collection and reading food blogs.....bliss! Feel free to have a nose at my blog and offer any suggestions or ideas!
This entry was posted in Dinner, Food, Fruit, Tea and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

