Foodie gifts in Jars! The perfect Christmas presents?

Christmas is the time of giving, and what better thing to give than something that has been lovingly created just for you?

IMG_8569

For our departments Christmas incentives the team leaders (of which I am one) decided to give 3 gifts a week to our team based on targets (it is still work!). We were given a budget which we could use to get gifts, however I thought this provided the perfect outlet for my baking desires. I mean, this meant I could play in the kitchen for hours at a time with a valid excuse and also not be tempted to eat all of my creations.

Chocolate covered Honeycomb

Chocolate covered Honeycomb

I started looking through my cookery books, magazines and the internet trying to think of something interesting that I could create that people would want to receive. A trip to the Good Food Show at the Birmingham NEC provided the perfect inspiration in the way of cake mixes in jars. This started me thinking about food in jars, wrapped up in pretty fabric and ribbons!

So I set to planning. Now, if you have ever had the misfortune to talk to me about bills/ savings/ my old allotment, you would run away at this point as I.Love.To.Plan!!

So far I have created….

  • Biscotti- pistachio & cranberry- Blog post here.
  • Christmas cake in jars- Blog post here (link to blog to be added shortly)
  • Christmas cookies in jar (link to blog to be added shortly)
  • Chocolate covered honeycomb/cinder toffee- (link to blog to be added shortly)
  • Raspberry marshmallows- (link to blog to be added shortly)
  • Chocolate Buttons- (link to blog to be added shortly)
Biscotti

Biscotti

All apart from the raspberry marshmallows have worked very well. The marshmallows were delicious, however a few days after popping them into the jars I noticed they had gone pretty gooey. On closer inspection they had started sticking together, so such a shame but I will have to use them spooned onto hot chocolate on cold wintery nights! When life hands you lemons…right!?

Christmas cookies in jar!

Christmas cookies in jar!

About kittenkirst

I'm a girl obsessed with all things food. Sweet, savoury, salty and everything inbetween captures my imagination! My favourite thing to do is spend hours leisurely reading from my cookbook collection and reading food blogs.....bliss! Feel free to have a nose at my blog and offer any suggestions or ideas!
This entry was posted in Baking, Confectionery, Craft, Dessert, Food and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Foodie gifts in Jars! The perfect Christmas presents?

  1. scoobylu100 says:

    Such a great idea!!!

  2. Pingback: Biscotti- Perfect Italian Biscuits | Returnto0z

  3. Pingback: Raspberry Marshmallow Gooeyness! | Returnto0z

Leave a Reply

