Raspberry Marshmallow Gooeyness!

Another offering for my Christmas gifts in jars project was to make marshmallows. Ever since I was 14 and working in my local coffee shop which served the most sumptuous hot chocolate smothered in marshmallows & cream I have had a love affair with marshmallows.

This seemed like the perfect time to try baking them. After much deliberating I decided on raspberry marshmallows, purely to use up the raspberry puree that was left over from the boyfriend making the James Martin chocolate icebox cake (he was inspired watching him create it at the BBC Good Food Show!).

I followed the recipe on the well-known NotQuiteNigella blog found here.

See below for “action-shot” of the marshmallow mixture being whipped, this was just after the raspberry mix had been added but before it swelled up in size.

IMG_8579 The recipe worked very well and created very sticky marshmallows.

Unfortunately I found that by popping them into sealed jars they got too moist and started sticking together making them look slightly unappetizing so they didn’t make their way into the Christmas Jar Project (below).  They did however make a wonderful hot chocolate with marshmallows!

IMG_8600

About kittenkirst

I'm a girl obsessed with all things food. Sweet, savoury, salty and everything inbetween captures my imagination! My favourite thing to do is spend hours leisurely reading from my cookbook collection and reading food blogs.....bliss! Feel free to have a nose at my blog and offer any suggestions or ideas!
This entry was posted in Baking, Confectionery, Food and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Raspberry Marshmallow Gooeyness!

  1. scoobylu100 says:

    Mmmmm marshmallows!!! Something else that’s on my ‘I really must find time to make’ list!

Leave a Reply

