Chocolate Honeycomb (or Hokey Pokey) in Jars

Another of my ideas for gifts in jars for Christmas presents (overview post here) was to make cinder toffee, which is also known as honeycomb or hokey pokey.

I have attempted to make this about a year before on a general whim -it gets to bonfire time of year and I crave cinder toffee and sparklers!- and whilst it semi-worked it wasn’t quite right. The recipe I previously used had butter in it which is why I think it went slightly too buttery and wet. My attempt this year proved far more fruitful.

I followed the wonderful Nigella Lawsons’ recipe for Hokey Pokey (here) which turned out deliciously well:
Bubbly honeycomb mix! Bubbly honeycomb mix!

Once I had followed the recipe, I decided to coat mine in a mix of dark and white chocolate. After all, it works very well on Cadburys Crunchies! I started by melting dark chocolate in a bowl over another bigger bowl filled with hot water from the kettle. Once it had melted I quickly scooped it into an icing bag (I use disposable ones to save on the washing up!), snipped the end off the bag and squeezed it from a height over the honeycomb.

IMG_8536After this it was time for the white chocolate!

IMG_8539

I then used a sharp kitchen knife to chop the honeycomb into squares and then popped it into the jars with a pretty ribbon tied around the neck for decoration! Cute!

IMG_8560

About kittenkirst

I'm a girl obsessed with all things food. Sweet, savoury, salty and everything inbetween captures my imagination! My favourite thing to do is spend hours leisurely reading from my cookbook collection and reading food blogs.....bliss! Feel free to have a nose at my blog and offer any suggestions or ideas!
This entry was posted in Baking, Christmas, Confectionery, Food and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Chocolate Honeycomb (or Hokey Pokey) in Jars

  1. Wonderful idea! I certainly would not complain about receiving this as a gift 🙂

  2. 100CookBooks says:

    I plan to try making this again, last time I tried it didn’t fizz up enough so I had a hard layer. About how long does it keep in a sealed jar ?

Leave a Reply

